How to walk right through a woman, by Malaika King Albrecht

2010 James Larkin Pearson Contest for Free Verse First Place

How to walk right through a woman
by Malaika King Albrecht

I can’t remember the curse that made me
invisible. I only know that one day
he held my hand and then another,

my hand slipped through his like sand.
I stayed in the room, an empty vase
in the dark and not even moonlight could find me.

He may have sensed my presence
as he stepped around me and around me
packing his books, clothes, toothbrush.

By morning he could walk right through
as if I were an open window,
a door, the immaterial air.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

